Arts Council England's new structure came into operation on 1 July 2013.

The changes were made as a result of the Government's requirement that we reduce our administrative costs, as applied to our grant in aid for the arts by the end of March 2015 as part of our settlement for 2011-15.

Making savings on this scale has required a major restructure and a substantial reduction in staff numbers, and will call for new ways of working. In shaping this new structure we were guided by the principle of remaining one national organisation with local presence, able to continue to deliver our 10-year strategy Achieving great art for everyone and Culture, knowledge and understanding: great museums and libraries for everyone.

Executive Board

  • Darren Henley, Chief Executive
  • Althea Efunshile, Deputy Chief Executive
  • Simon Mellor, Executive Director, Arts & Culture  
  • Laura Dyer, Executive Director with responsibility for national strategy and North, Midlands and the South West
  • Liz Bushell, Director, Finance & Corporate Services 
  • Mags Patten, National Director Communications

Click here for more information about our Executive Board, including board member profiles.

Area Directors

  • Sarah Maxfield, Area Director, North
  • Peter Knott, Area Director, Midlands 
  • Phil Gibby, Area Director, South West 
  • Joyce Wilson, Area Director, London 
  • Hedley Swain, Area Director, South East

Directors in our Areas

  • Alison Clark Jenkins, Director Combined Arts and North, based in Manchester
  • Cluny Macpherson, Director Touring and North, based in Dewsbury 
  • Jane Tarr, Director Organisational Resilience and Environmental Sustainability and North, based in Newcastle 
  • Peter Heslip, Director Visual Arts and London, based in London 
  • Neil Darlison, Director Theatre and London, based in London
  • Helen Sprott, Director Music and London, based in London
  • Nick McDowell, Director International and London, based in London 
  • Antonia Byatt, Director Literature and South East, based in Cambridge
  • Cate Canniffe, Director Dance and South East, based in Brighton 
  • Brian Ashley, Director Libraries and Midlands, based in Nottingham
  • Amanda Roberts Director Diversity and Midlands, based in Birmingham, will be taking up her post in August
  • John Orna-Ornstein Director Museums and South West, based in Bristol, will be taking up his post in September

National office directors 

  • Francis Runacres, Director Investment
  • Ruth Alaile, Director Governance and Planning
  • Richard Russell, Director Policy and Research
  • Laura Gander-Howe, Director Children, Young People and Learning
  • Gill Johnson, Director Creative Media
  • Phil Cave, Director Engagement and Audiences
  • Scott Furlong, Director Acquisitions, Exports, Loans and Collections
  • Cassie Chadderton,  Director Media and Stakeholder Relations
  • Ella Muers, Director Marketing and Digital Communications
  • Ian Matthews, Director HR

The key changes include:

  • An overall reduction in staff numbers across the organisation of 21 per cent from 559.5 full time posts to 442 
  • Four Executive Directors, reducing from eight, accountable for delivering the Arts Council's overall strategy, with the Chief Executive
  • Leadership of artform and cultural policy expertise distributed geographically across the organisation - everyone will have a local and national focus
  • Property costs will come down by 50 per cent through reductions in the size of offices
  • Major offices are now located in London, Birmingham, Manchester and Bristol, plus some smaller local offices to keep the Arts Council close to the arts and cultural sector, and to local government
  • Five areas covering London, the South East, the South West, the Midlands and the North have replaced the Arts Council's current regions and areas

The Arts Council's new operating model includes further development of the shared working with the sector that has become evident over the last two years - from collective working towards shared goals, to the awarding of commissioned grants to deliver particular programmes of work.

We have now completed the new area boundary changes and the new organisation is in place. However, there will still be some changes to office arrangements and locations in the coming months.

Download the organisational review published october 2012