Grove Music Online has been the leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001. A glorious compendium of music scholarship, Grove Music is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music.

Grove Music Online offers:

  • the full text of the acclaimed 29-volume New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd edition), the four volume New Grove Dictionary of Opera, the three volume New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd Edition), The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music
  • over 50,000 specially commissioned articles on people and places, instruments and techniques, genres and styles 
  • over 28,000 biographies – from sopranos and saxophonists to from pop stars and pianists – with relevant links through to the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (for subscribers to both resources) 
  • detailed works lists for a vast range of composers 
  • over 3,000 links to related websites, including sound archives and illustrations 
  • expanded linking programme to sound examples via partnerships with Classical Music Online and DRAM, as well as links to the RILM database of music bibliography for mutual subscribers 
  • learning resources, thematic guides and timelines provide invaluable support for teachers and students, as well as an alternative user-friendly way into the rich Grove content 
  • indepth bibliographies and extensive lists of additional research resources 
  • a full range of search and browse options, and one-click cross-referencing 
  • new and revised articles added on a regular basis 

Further information 

Find out more about Grove Music Online at 

Take a tour 

How to subscribe

If you wish to subscribe, first take a look at the Model Licence. To obtain pricing and for further information or to request a free trial contact:

Ged Welford
Oxford University Press, Online Sales, Room E100 
Great Clarendon Street
OX2 6DP 

Tel: 01865 354582