Reference Online is a subscription-based electronic content service for English public libraries brokered by Arts Council England.

Local authorities have bought services from 16 suppliers who are now part of a Framework Agreement.  They offer general reference material, online newspapers, and business and financial information. The Framework Agreement is available for use by English public libraries over a period of two years from April 2012 to March 2014.
The list below provides an overview of the resources for which agreements have been secured.

How to subscribe

Enquiries about specific products should be made via the contact details given for the relevant supplier. Note also that the Framework Agreement requires use of a Model Licence and Pricing Schedule between suppliers and library services. Some suppliers have appended the Model Licence with changed schedules. Always check first with the supplier if any changes to the Model Licence have been agreed with the Arts Council.

Download the Model Licence

Suppliers and products list


Below is a list of suppliers to the 2012-14 Framework Agreement together with product titles and contact information.

123doc 

Product: 123Library (ebooks) www.123library.org
Contact: Sabine Guerry, 123 Doc Ltd, 72 Harley Street, London, W1G 7HG
Tel: 0207 253 4363 Mob: 07769 704684
Email: sabineguerry@123doc.com

Alexander Street Press LLC

Products: Music Online reference, Music Online Listening  (music reference, streamed music and video) www.alexanderstreet.com
Contact: Robert Iannello, Regional Sales Director, Greater Europe. Alexander Street Press, Business and Technology Centre, G04 Bessemer Drive, Stevenage, Hertfordshire, SG1 2DX
Mobile: 07548 590292
Email: riannello@alexanderstreet.com

Bibliographic Data Services Ltd

Product: Books and Media (current awareness service) www.booksandmedia.co.uk
Contact: Sarah Armitage, Director of Library Sales
Tel. 07860 324570
Email: sarah.armitage@bibdsl.co.uk

Brightsolid Online Publishing Ltd

Product: Findmypast (genealogical materials) www.findmypast.co.uk
Contact: Paul Nixon, Content Licensing Manager, brightsolid online publishing, Fourth Floor, 117 Fenchurch Street, London EC3M 5DY
Mobile: 07584 630785 DDI: 0203 326 6322
Email:paul.nixon@brightsolid.com

British Standards Institution (BSI)

Product: British Standards Online www.bsigroup.co.uk
Contact: BSI Standards Ltd
Tel: 0208 996 9001
Email: cservices@bsigroup.com

Cans Trust

Product: CANS Advice Notes (Legal advice) www.cans.org.uk
Contact: Bradley Reynolds, Editorial and Customer Support, Cans Legal Information, Popeshead Court Offices, Peter Lane, York, YO1 8SU
Telephone: 0207 374 4925
Email: breynolds@cans.org.uk

Careers Europe - Aspire-I Ltd

Product: EXODUS and EISODUS (advice and guidance for UK residents living and working abroad and for those coming to the UK to live and work) www.careeerseurope.co.uk
Contact: Careers Europe
Tel:  01274 829600
Email: info@careerseurope.co.uk

Cengage Learning (EMEA) Ltd

Product: NewsVault and InfoTrac (electronic serials and newspapers) www.gale.cengage.co.uk
Contact: Mark Richardson, UK Sales Manager
Tel: 01264 332424 Fax: 01264 342761 Mob: 07810 565900
Email: m.richardson@cengage.com

Credo Reference

Product: Credo reference (General reference services) http://corp.credoreference.com
Contact: Anne Kail
Tel: 01865 339 450
Email: anne.kail@credoreference.com

Dandy Booksellers Limited

Product: Public Information Online (official publications)www.publicinformationonline.com
Contact: Donna Ravenhill or Phil Stears, Dandy Booksellers Limited, Unit 3 & 4,  31-33 Priory Park Road, London, NW6 7UP
Tel: 020 7624 2993   Fax: 020 7624 5049
Email: enquiries@dandybooksellers.com

Dun & Bradstreet Ltd

Product: Dun & Bradstreet business information (business and financial advice) www.dnb.co.uk
Contact: Alison Holmes
Email:  holmesa@dnb.com

EBSCO

Product: ebooks and e-audio books, UK and Ireland Reference Centre (general reference) www.ebscohost.com
Contact: Gareth Smith, Senior Sales Director, EBSCO Publishing, 4th Floor Kingmaker House, Station Road, New Barnet, London, EN5 1NZ
Tel: 0208 447 4200  Fax: 0208 440 2205
Email: garethsmith@ebscohost.com

Key Note Ltd

Product: Keynote (business and financial information) www.keynote.co.uk
Contact: Catherine Cable
Telephone: 0203 405 1139 Mobile: 07970 090914
Email: ccable@keynote.co.uk

NewsBank INC

Product: UK and Ireland Newspapers, World News (electronic newspapers) www.newsbank.com
Contact: Jenny Maxted
Tel: 01803 299007
Email: jmaxted@newsbank.com or sales@newsbank.com

OCLC (UK) Ltd

Product: Enquire (General Reference)
Contact: Russ Hunt, Account Manager, OCLC (UK) Ltd, 8th Floor, West Wing, 54 Hagley Road, Birmingham, B16 8PE http://enquire-uk.oclc.org/content/view/38/73/
Tel: 0121 456 4656 Mobile: 07872 692 788 Fax: 0121 456 4680
Email: russ.hunt@oclc.org

Oxford University Press

Product: OED, DNB, Grove Dictionaries, Who’s Who, other general reference
Contact: Ged Welford, Oxford University Press, Online Sales, Room E100, Great Clarendon Street, Oxford OX2 6DP
Tel: 01865 354582
Email: ged.welford@oup.com

Further information

If you have any general questions or comments about Reference Online, please email museums.libraries@artscouncil.org.uk.

Further details on individual products will be available on this page shortly.