Organisational structure

The Arts Council is run by an Executive Board, as well as National and Area Councils. We also have a number of Directors responsible for different areas of the organisation.

Our current structure came into operation on 1 July 2013. The changes were made as a result of the Government's requirement that we reduce our administrative costs, as part of our settlement for 2011–15.

Making savings on this scale required a major restructure, substantial reduction in staff numbers and new ways of working. In shaping this new structure we were guided by the principle of remaining one national organisation with a local presence, able to continue to deliver our 10-year strategy.

Download a full list of our Executive Board, National and Area Councils and Directors >


Three performers partially obscured behind a curtain, with butterfly shaped light projections on the fabric, and above their heads.

Area Councils

Our five area councils: North, Midlands, London, South East and South West

Image captions
Top left to bottom right: 1. Shailesh Bahoran and Sooraj Subramaniam of Shobana Jeyasingh Dance perform Material Men, commissioned by Southbank Centre. Photo © Chris Nash. 2. Neon Dogs by Deepa Mann Kler, produced by Artichoke. Photo © Chris Hill / Artichoke. 3. Dot, Squiggle and Rest at Polka Theatre with Royal Opera House. Photo © Robert Workman / Polka Theatre.