Skip to main content Skip to site map (in footer)

Thriving Yorkshire arts sector celebrates its awards

  • Date: 6 December 2010
  • Area: North

Some of the fantastic work taking place in the thriving Yorkshire arts sector has been recognised recently with prestigious national awards. The winners include a number of organisations supported with regular funding from the Arts Council.

Two productions at the West Yorkshire Playhouse starred in the Theatre Management Association (TMA) Theatre Awards 2010. Maggie Steed won Best Performance in a Play for her role in Noël Coward's Hay Fever and Lighting Designer Chris Davey scooped the award for Best Lighting Design for his work on Dial M For Murder.

Marcia Hutchinson, Managing Director of Kirklees-based Primary Colours, collected the award for Social Business Enterprise of the Year at the Precious Awards 2010, which celebrate the wonderful achievements of inspirational entrepreneurial women of colour who run businesses in the UK.

Brighouse and Rastrick Brass Band hit another high note in its celebrated history when it won the 2010 National Championships of Great Britain. It is the eighth time the band has been crowned the Champion Brass Band of Great Britain. It first held the title in 1946!

The Causeway Suite by Yorkshire-based James Hamilton (nominated by Jazz Yorkshire, recording sponsored by Jazz Yorkshire and Leeds College of Music) has won a British Composer Award for best contemporary jazz composition. 

The outstanding work of two poets published by Leeds-based Peepal Tree Press was recognised in no less than three of the UK's most prestigious poetry awards. Christian Campbell's Running the Dusk won the 2010 Aldeburgh First Collection Prize and was shortlisted in the Best First Book in the UK category in the 2010 Forward Poetry Prizes. Leeds writer Seni Seneviratne, whose first collection Wild Cinammon and Winter Skin was published by Peepal Tree Press, was nominated for the Arvon International Poetry Competition.

Leeds-based writer and publisher Adam Lowe, a member of  Peepal Tree Press' Young Inscribe programme, was longlisted for his short story Pomegranate in the Best New Writing category of the Eric Hoffer Awards 2010.

The Hepworth Wakefield was joint winner of the Contemporary Art Society's Annual Award along with Wolverhampton Art Gallery. The award will enable The Hepworth Wakefield and its co-winner Wolverhampton Art Gallery to commission artist Luke Fowler to create a new work that will be acquired jointly for their collections.

Cluny Macpherson, Regional Director of the Arts Council in Yorkshire, said: 'Congratulations to all the winners. These awards are timely recognition of the quality and diversity of the work being produced by artists and organisations working in Yorkshire. Audiences across the region are agreeing with the award judges, taking part in and enjoying the arts in theatres, galleries, community centres, public spaces, shops, offices and other unique venues throughout Yorkshire. It's proof, if proof is needed, that original, innovative work breeds success and the Arts Council is delighted to support  such an amazing range of award winning work'