Skip to main content Skip to site map (in footer)

London Council welcomes three new members

  • Date: 27 January 2012
  • Area: London

This month James Conway, Robert Dufton and David Hall join our London Council for three year terms.

The London Council is the non-executive board of the London office of Arts Council England. Its members provide advice, make funding decisions, support and promote the Arts Council’s goals and aims in London, and advocate for the arts in the capital and beyond. London Council is chaired by Veronica Wadley, who also sits on the National Council as one of the Arts Council’s nine regional chairs.

Veronica Wadley, London Chair of Arts Council England, said:
“I am delighted to see another three extremely talented and committed people joining our London Council. James, Robert and David all have a broad range of experience in the arts and extensive knowledge across many different aspects of the sector. They have much to offer in their new roles and will be a great asset as the Arts Council moves towards its ten year vision of Achieving great art for everyone.

“On behalf of London Council, we are looking forward to welcoming them to our first meeting in 2012 – a year which we hope will be very special for the arts in the capital and across the country.”

James Conway is the General Director at English Touring Opera and has directed performances across the world. He has also lectured English and Drama in Ireland and India, is an award winning writer and has been an opera consultant for the Arts Council of Ireland.

Robert Dufton is the Director of the Paul Hamlyn Foundation, previously working at the Rayne Foundation and the Heritage Lottery Fund and currently a Governor of the Museum of London. Robert is one of four appointments which the Mayor of London makes to London Council.

David Hall is the founding Chief Executive of the Foyle Foundation, a member of the Development Council and Planning and Strategy Groups of the National Theatre, and sits on the Engagement, Education and Access Committee at the Royal Opera House.

More information on our London Council and its members can be found here.