Grants for the arts are for activities carried out over a set period and which engage people in England in arts activities, and help artists and arts organisations in England carry out their work.

Grants for the arts is funded by the National Lottery.

Grants for the arts Libraries fund

The Grants for the arts Libraries fund will invest £6 million of the Arts Council's Grants for the arts National Lottery money in projects delivered by public libraries or library authorities working in partnership with cultural organisations across all art forms.

It is hoped that the Grants for the arts Libraries fund will inspire ambitious, innovative partnerships between libraries and arts organisations, and encourage library users and those living locally to take part in artistic and cultural activities.

Public libraries can apply for grants of between £1,000 and £100,000 covering activities lasting up to three years. The fund opened to applications on 27 September 2012 and will run until March 2018. Find out how to apply.

Download our Guidance notes for more information including the criteria, details on how to contact the Arts Council, case studies and help with writing your application.

Guidance and information sheet:
Word pdf

Arts Council England is working with the library sector to help create libraries which are at the heart of local communities, helping to inspire and empower people to lead active lives enriched by culture. The Arts Council's work with libraries to achieve this include: the Libraries development initiative, and a programme of research and debate entitled Envisioning the library of the future.

The Arts Council took on responsibility for supporting and developing libraries in October 2011. We do not fund running costs for libraries. These continue to come from local authorities. We are responsible for the development of public libraries, and our budget will be spent strategically in order to support libraries to continue to be vibrant and relevant to their communities.

Full details of the latest awards offered to applicants are available in Excel format via the link below. 

All awards offered since 1 April 2014 (xslx)

All awards offered between 1 April 2013 and 31 March 2014 (xslx)